Writing Dream Teams? Or Just Plain Ridiculous?

image courtesy freedigitalphotos.net

image courtesy freedigitalphotos.net

I tend to spend most of January in a fantasy world, for obvious reasons. One: In that temporal space, I am Queen and Chief of the Secret Police; and Two: I haven’t experienced real-life daylight for over a month.

For the purposes of blogging, this has resulted in predictions for famous writers, and predictions for myself. But today,  I’d like to turn to the subject of writing teams and ghost writers, following the stranger-than-fiction news last week that Roddy Doyle is to write Roy Keane’s biography. Yes, the chronicler of the familiarly ridiculous is about to get ridiculously familiar with the infamous footballer. Assuming he doesn’t get kicked to death in the process.

Here are a few suggestions of my own for creative projects that might keep a smile on my face, even in the depths of the annual slap across the face that is the Irish January (small wonder we’re an accepting sort of people).

1. Unlikely Biographical Partnerships

Justin Bieber: My Whole Life by Ozzy Osbourne

The Real Stephen Hawking by Perez Hilton

The Life and Times of Ian Paisley by Gerry Adams

This Isn't Going To Work, Is It2. Unlikely Writing Teams

J.K. Rowling and E.L. James

Russell Brand and Jeremy Paxman

John Banville and Pat Ingoldsby

Dan Brown and Lee Child

Caitlin Moran and Jeremy Clarkson

No way, really??3. Unlikely (But Delicious) Film Collaborations

Stephen Spielberg directing the cast of Glee in the on-screen version of Wagner’s The Ring of the Nibelung

Vivienne Westwood designing the costumes for the next One Direction movie

Lynda La Plante writing the screenplay for the sequel to 50 Shades of Grey

 

And so over to you. Who would be your biography dream team? Who would flibber your funny bone and itchify your interest in the world of literary or film collaboration in 2014?

  5 comments for “Writing Dream Teams? Or Just Plain Ridiculous?

  1. carolannwrites
    January 20, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    Can’t even THINK of any collaboration I’m laughing so much! Will let you know when I pull myself together… 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  2. January 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    I want to see Stephen’s Glee Wagner Ring NOW and I’m not leaving until the fat lady does her stuff!!! Otherwise, I’ll settle for John Banville and EL James latest dream team bestseller 50 Shades of Benjamin Black’s Grey Sea and Two Slices of Toast, Please.

    Like

    • January 20, 2014 at 7:31 pm

      I’d love to see John Banville work with EL James. If only to see the look on his face when he found out the identity of his partner.

      Like

      • January 20, 2014 at 7:36 pm

        Just got that image in my mind….bless him…. will stop laughing ….. soon….

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.